Another Migatronic 5000 MX

1. Rod06 New Member

Hi,
    I have come on this site to try and help my local garage, who are doing some work for me, when I mentioned that my background is electrical/electronic engineering (now retired) and he asked if I might know what was wrong with this welder. Well, it's a bit of a specialized area, but hope someone might have come across the fault.

The unit works ok, but he tells me that the gas contactor (relay) suffers from quite bad arcing. I suggested that cleaning the contacts (if this is possible-I've not seen inside the welder) might help. I also see on a circuit for another welder (180 MXE) of the same make (could not find a circuit for the 5000 MX model on line) has a bridge of capacitors, but it looks like these are not to protect the contacts but in fact power factor correction.
    Maybe the contactor/relay simply needs replacing?

Any help or advice will be appreciated and passed on.

Many thanks, Rod

2. rtbcomp

rtbcomp Moderator Staff Member

I believe you can get semiconductor snubbers which are more efficient than the usual resistor/capacitor types, may be worth a try.

3. mike 109444

mike 109444 Member

uk Bristol
    Hi Rod. You can think of a mig as a DC power supply with a multi tapped primary (this gives you the power selection) and a heavy current capable secondary (hence the thicker winding. This is followed by the diode pack (rectifier) usually stud or press fit diodes on ally plates. The Dc out from this feeds int a choke and the capacitor bank. Choke is usually a single winding transformer type core.