Advice on TecArc 181 welder

1. Blackwreck New Member

Hi, I am new to welding, having done a few hours at a local college and bought a second hand TecArc 181. I wanted to fit a new torch/conduit to the welder and track down a user manual if possible. I have tried contacting TecArc directly with no joy. Would anyone recommend a torch and where I can access a manual? Thanks

2. mdr

mdr Collector of welding machines

Welcome! :waving: (even though you joined in 2016!)

I'm sure someone will be along to offer better advice. However, from reading about this make (and the reading threads on Portamig, Oxford, and Tec-Arc - I think they are all one and the same-ish)... there isn't really a manual. If there is (I cannot find one) it's not worth the hunt. Maybe it's not full of circuit diagrams and a font of information.

I did find this video...

If I were you I'd email/ring their sales about a new gun from their manual (top of page 33)...

https://technicalarc.co.uk/TECARC 2017-2019.pdf

...and if/when their sales team replies (buying something should get a better reply than a technical issue/customer service), bring up the question of a manual.

https://technicalarc.co.uk/contact/

3. Blackwreck New Member

Hi Thanks for the help, video and the welcome. Everything takes me a while! Have tried Technical Arc sales a couple of times but will keep doing so. In different times I would go over to their base as they are not far from me. Thanks again

4. 500e

500e Always buy fire insurance a flood is hard to start

What poor service, the person wants a USER manual not service info.at least suggest a reseller
    Again poor service, short sighted sales & service! that reply will not encourage @Blackwreck to purchase another TA machine & he may also mention to others the lack of interest.

While munching my cornflakes I watch morning TV & read paper the No of companies that cost themselves untold loss by not addressing simple low cost requests never ceases to amaze me.