Advice on finding someone to transport a lathe.

1. farmer_joe New Member

Hi guys,

I’m looking to potential get a lathe transported from Scotland(NW of Glasgow) down to Kent.
    It can be loaded by the seller and unloaded myself at this end(Kent).
    So really just needs to be a flat bed transporter.

anyone have any recommendations?
    That are reasonable cost wise?

ive tried a smallish transport company and they want £1100 plus vat, which seems a bit on the steep side to me. That said I’ve no experience using transport company’s as I usually go myself!

many advice greatly appreciated.

many thanks,
    Joe

2. Stueeee

Stueeee Old git

how big/heavy is the lathe?

mtt.tr likes this.
  3. DeanH Member

£1100 plus vat?!?!? I'm half way between and would hire a van and do it for half that for you!

4. slim_boy_fat

slim_boy_fat Forum Supporter

fizzy and 8ob like this.
  5. MattH

MattH Member

Be very careful.

There is loads of machinery being sold out of North West Scotland that is a scam.

The scammers say it's there to discourage you from viewing it.

Make sure this lathe exists before parting with any cash!

Ashley Burton, Parm, dobbslc and 4 others like this.
  6. James1979 Member

Everyone seems to swear by landylift. Never used him but never heard anything bad from those that have. I take it a flatbed trailer and going to get it is out of the question?

When I needed to move a big piece of machinery, I bought a trailer, did the job then sold it for the same amount.

Arc Tourist, rtcosic and doubleboost like this.
  7. fizzy Forum Supporter

uk
    We can ship lathes IF they are properly palletised and there are forklifts at the collection and delivery points.
    If you need a tail lift the maximum would be a Bantam or Student.

8. WorkshopChris

WorkshopChris Forum Supporter

Steep?
    If that's a dedicated end to end journey then it's not to bad at all.

mr haynes, mtt.tr and KimB like this.
  9. farmer_joe New Member

Thanks for the reply’s chaps.