45 Deg Cuts

1. rtcosic

rtcosic Member

Is this technique as straightforward as it seems? Am I missing something?

a111r, zx9 and eLuSiVeMiTe like this.
  2. slim_boy_fat

slim_boy_fat Forum Supporter

I stopped watching when I saw him welding without a lid and what appear to be clear safety glasses, no gloves either. I'm a rank amateur but even I wouldn't do that. :vsad:

Is it unkind to label him an idiot? :scared:

Hopefuldave and skotl like this.
  3. skotl

skotl Forum Supporter

That's astonishing.
    It looks like he does good work (judging by the first 30 seconds of the vid) but the guy must be living under a rock if he thinks that's acceptable.
    I posted here a couple of years back when I was welding my trailer - had fire-retardant overalls, welding gloves, welding mask and hat on but still managed to sunburn my throat because my overalls weren't done up.

Crazy.

slim_boy_fat likes this.
  4. stuvy

stuvy Member

If I’m spot welding and v v v v v lazy I will look away and spot weld

Iv welded for almost 20 years and in a heavy industrial environment yes you do get sun burn but that day in day out a few spit welds and looking away is fine

WorkshopChris and eLuSiVeMiTe like this.
  5. minimutly Member

Well it's his workshop, his hands, and I'm assuming he closed his eyes while tacking. His H&S may not be up to much, but he's no idiot obviously.
    Intersting thing he did with that 45deg cut, I have some of those clamp tools too, never used mine either.
    Couldn't pin his accent down - Irish, Canadian?

hunter27, Wany, stuvy and 1 other person like this.
  6. rtcosic

rtcosic Member

I was initially very distracted by his accent which seemed to wander around the world! I too settled on Irishman settled in Canada.

I was interested in the 45 deg cuts and overall technique, not his North American approach to HSE.

a111r, Wany, stuvy and 1 other person like this.
  7. outofthefire

outofthefire Member

Leeds