Welding Exhaust pipe?

1. BudmannG Member

I am new to welding and figured I would google about mig welding and found this site. Very nice write up on the tutorials!

I have a 90 amp mig welder I just bought. I am trying to weld exhaust pipe together. It is really for my innercooler setup on my car. I have tried it on low settings and it don't seem to go through themetal as shown in the tutorials. I have tried it on high and I get blow through.

Now with the gasless mig welder, how do I control the heat? Is it with the wire feed dial?

This is my welder!

90 AMP FLUX MIG WIRE WELDER

NO GAS REQUIRED Specifically designed to use self-shielding flux-cored welding wire, eliminating any need for gas and regulators normal MIG welders require. Self regulating feed control Thermal protection with warning light Carry handle on lid Input: 115 volt, 15 amps, single phase Welding current (2 settings) 63 to 68 amps (low), 79 to 90 amps (high) Duty cycle: 10% @ 80 amps, 18% @ 60 amps Wire capacity: 0.035'' or 0.030''

[​IMG]
  2. weldequip Member

England
    Hi,
    With Gas-Less MIG welders you tend to struggle welding very thin sheet as they don't burn as smooth as a standard Gas type MIG, having a stronger, more unstable arc which causes burn through on very thin metal.
    With your machine only having two settings you can't fine tune the arc & it's a case of all (high) or nothing (low). The minimum setting on low on your machine (63 amps) is also way too high - 30amps is typical on most machines which is half yours.
    BEST ADVICE - try & do overlap joints if at all possible ie. double the material thickness.
    weldequip
  3. BudmannG Member

So does that mean I won't be able to weld the body panels on my car when I am ready to do that?
  4. weldequip Member

England