Removing a Talbot Express windscreen

1. BeeJay99

BeeJay99 Forum Supporter

I shall be tidying up a few small areas of rot on the Talbot part of my Swift Capri camper shortly. Two of the areas needing work are at the bottom corners of the windscreen where the steel has rusted right through. I have no problems with preparing the patches and welding them in but it is obvious that to do the job properly I will have to take the windscreen out and this is something (along with getting it back in) I have no experience of.
    I have done a search on the forum but with no helpful results so in short - how do I do it?
  2. brightspark

brightspark Member

yarm teeside
    ifits the old type with external bead . remove bead get someone inside with bare feet to push the screen out while u pull the gasket to one side releasing the screen :laughing:
  3. pedrobedro

pedrobedro Man at Matalan

How is the screen held in? If it is a rubber seal with a spreader strip you can pull out the spreader by prising one end out and easing it round till it is all out of the channel. I usually get something flat like an old blunt screwdriver and lift an inside corner of the main seal then prise it over the window aperture and push on the glass till the corner is free then work round with the screwdriver pulling the screen at the same time. If it's a big screen get someone to help but don't get carried away as they don't bend much before they crack. I find the screen usually comes out with the rubber attached and goes back the same way with some plastic coated rope or electrical cable in the groove to help it peel over the lip.
  4. BeeJay99

BeeJay99 Forum Supporter

Thanks both for your replies. I don't know if it has an external bead or a spreader strip can you tell from this picture?
    • rust.jpg
  5. Endacy

Endacy Member

Kent, UK
    Might have the strip on the inside looking at that?
  6. welshpug

welshpug Member

South Wales