Is being a welder a good job?

1. Hugh Jass Member

Well is it?
    I'm currently a mature student studying a course in motorcycle maintance.
    I also am doing an evening class in welding, I have passed my nvq level 1 in oxy and am now doing Mig.
    Thing is I really enjoy my evening class and am really excited about welding, I enjoy it and cannot wait till I get my own Mig welder.

Getting a job as a bike mechanic can be difficult and I am wondering if I am making the right decision. What do I need to do to get a job in the welding industry. Or even as the shop lacky?

Studying for the level 2 qualifications in oxy mig and tig will cost about £2000 and that is a lot of money to me, is it worth persueing? or shall I just stick to being an enthusiastic hobby welder.
  2. toddy Member

royston
    well tbh at the mo there is very little chance of gettng a good start in welding,
    ive been out of work since feb and i must have applyed for over 1500 jobs now and no luck at the mo. and i can do nearly every process there is (mig,tig, mma, fluxcore, subarc and a few more)

if you can get into the indistry it is a really good job, you can earn upto and over 50k a year, and i know guys that do earn that.

and it does not matter if you are nvq 1/2/3 all the indistrys want is the coding. as i have c/g level 3 and nvq level 3 in pipe welding(harder than plate) and it means nouthing.

but i do have asme IX 6g in tig and stick and that is what people want(and i still find it hard)
  3. Hugh Jass Member

well I know that I want to work in the same place all the time and not a deep sea diver or working on building sites around England.
    So I was thinking of a fabricating shop or something, I know that I need practice and a very understanding boss at the start.

Oh and good luck with the job search Toddy, thanks for the advice.
  4. Hitch

Hitch Moderator Staff Member

Somerset
    I like the mix of stuff you get in general fabrication.