gasless to gas conversion

1. williamz Member

Hey guys, i'm new to the welding industry and bought myself a gasless wirefeeder from sears on christmas.

I've been practicing on scrap metal and wanted to try aluminum but have heard that i need argon for that and my welder does not have a plug or anything for gas.

Is there a kit out there that i can hook up to my welder?

It's a craftsman gasless wire feed MIG welder Model 20568

Any ideas?

2. Haze

Haze is it can be hugs tiem ?

West London
    probably have to change the torch depending on the model, the gas is controlled by a gas valve inside the torch, which is connected directly to a gas bottle, so the welder has no say on the gas side of things, you might have to change the polarity too, from what I heard.

3. shenion

shenion Tool Pack Rat

Stone Mountain, GA USA
    Looks like sears does not sell a gas conversion kit for that model.

Welding Al is difficult with MIG. I have fought mine. The wire is soft and does not feed well. The best option is to use a spool gun. Really for AL, TIG is the best option.

What do you need to weld that is Al? I have used AlumniWeld with good results (needs careful use and practice.)

You would probably want a higher-end welder that already has the gas option.

4. arceye Banned

To weld aluminum the torch has to be positive polarity and earth return negitive pure argon gas or boc alushield must be used.Best to use a teflon liner,aluminum mig wire push the torch forward when welding .

5. Alex Member

Craftsman are made in the same factory as Clarke, can you show a picture.

A lot of people may recgonise it to a familiar Clarke model.

6. shenion

shenion Tool Pack Rat

Stone Mountain, GA USA
    When I checked Sears, they showed extra tips that were labeled Clarke.

Look inside, if the wires from the gun and the ground come to terminals that can be swapped, then it can probably be converted.