Co2/argon regulator

1. Dirty Bus Member

Hi all,

This is my first post on here although I have spent a lot of time browsing the various threads.
    I am new to welding, I brought a second hand SIP Autoplus 196 which I have used quite a bit now. It came with a pub bottle of CO2 which has now ran out so I'm now looking to get myself some CO2/Argon.

I assume the regulator on my CO2 bottle will be of no use once I get my CO2/Argon mix? Therefore I'll need a new regulator, what should I be looking for? Are there different types? Are they easy enough to fit?

Any help/suggestions much appreciated,

Mark
  2. shenion

shenion Tool Pack Rat

Stone Mountain, GA USA
    Argon/CO2 use a standard fitting.

The best is a regulator with a tank pressure gauge and a flow meter (has ball that floats up a graduated tube to show actual flow.) Next is one with dual gauges with the output gauge calibrated in LPM or SCFH.

weldequip or DIY welding should be able to get you one. Your gas supplier will also have a reg but I doubt it would be inexpensive.
  3. Dirty Bus Member

Thanks Scott.

Do they vary much? The reason I'm asking is because I've seen a few on Ebay? Or should they be avoided?

Cheers
  4. shenion

shenion Tool Pack Rat

Stone Mountain, GA USA
    I have bought 4 different regulators off ebay. One was a Chinese reg with a flowmeter. It was sloppily made but worked. It was just for occasional use on my portable welder; did not want an expensive one I was worried about breaking.

The other ones were name brands like Smith, Harris and Hobart. They have been very good. If you stick with a name brand, then you should be fine.

You do need to check the input and output fittings. Most of mine came with adapters for the most common fittings. If your welder has the 4mm tube you will need and adapter.

Make sure the regulator has the ouput calibrate din LPM or SCFH. If it just has a PSI gauge, it is a regulator for lab use, not welding.
  5. Bigjoe Here,there and everywhere!