best Tig set? youe opinion and reasons?

1. BRODTuning Member

south wales
    Hi all ,just wondering what is in your opinion the best tig set available ,money not a factor just wonderin what in your eyes is the ultimate tig set and why? also what improvements would you make and what features would you add?
    could turn into an interesting thread with some input ,sorry if there is already a thread about this!
    B.
  2. pedrobedro

pedrobedro Man at Matalan

My Stel 201h because I already have it and it does what I want. Money no object it would still have to run on a domestic supply so really you need to set more parameters. Kemppi Mastertig would be a good contender with a range of front panels.
  3. Shox Dr

Shox Dr Chief Engineer to Carlos Fandango

I have a MasterTIG 2300 and love it to bits. Is it the best set in the world? I don't know, but it sure does what I want it to do.

As for buttons, it came with the basic panel, that I had to get repaired, that then got lost in the return post. So they sent me the high end panel, to be honest it looks good when you fire it up, but after that it's not that much different to the basic, you just don't have to dig around to adjust stuff.

It also runs off a 13amp plug with 230amps max, not many set do that.
  4. Engineer pre-moderated

UK
    What do you want to use the TIG for and do you have 3phase power? Without taking those things into account its impossible for anyone to answer your question.
  5. FranV8 Member

Cambs, UK
    Quick list:

- Option to run three phase or single phase
    - Inverter machine
    - Air filters on machine
    - IGBT
    - Water cooled torch
    - Built in rack for torches/cable storage
    - Build in flow meter
    - Big amp range - from not a lot to a lot!
    - AC/DC
    - 100% duty cycle
    - Pedal
    - Preset and actual amp display
    - Variable frequency
    - Full feature pulse
    - Stick capability
    - Weigh nothing!
    - Torch mounted variable current
    - Flexible head