Wolf MIG Welders

1. mr pick Member

I have just bought my first mig, wolf 135 turbo. Read the instruction and followed to the letter. 1st problem . Should my gun be live before pulling trigger?
    got a big spark and flash while positioning gun to start welding.
    I am new to mig welding only used one a year ago and dont remember having such a problem. It has left me shocked and should i use the machine does it have a falt.
    thanks for any advice great site iam enjoying reading forum:confused:

2. malcolm

malcolm & Clementine the Cat

In the bad old days the cheapest of the cheap welders often had permamantly live wire feed which was bad because it made it easy to get arc eye when positioning. There was a cost saving in getting rid of the relay that switched power to the torch. I didn't think anyone did that these days.

I had a look through the manual and can't find any mention of live wire feed or otherwise, but they did mention positioning prior to fliping the mask down and the risk wasn't mentioned. Here's the manual:
    http://www.screwfix.com/sfd/i/cat/pdfs/63/p3977563.pdf

The Wolf is made by the same people as all the other welders, so I can't imagine it would be so much worse - I'm guessing it's faulty and the contactor unit (the relay) is broken. Anyone on the forum have one that can confirm?

3. mr pick Member

thanks malcolm, just managed to contact tech help line it seems that this machine is produced with live wire feed. wish i had known this before purchase,
    I wonder if anybody knows if it is possible to convert or any firm who may carry out conversion. So far i have only managed one pityful weld apart from sticking gun to my hacksaw (saw touching metal be welded, laid gun next to it) now need new tip.
    thanks for help, intructions not very clear are they all like this or is it just this machine!

4. malcolm

Anyone know whether the rest of the Wolfs have a live wire feed? I'm updating the buyers guide and it would be worth a mention.