welding license

1. daz Member

hi im new to welding, i just got given a mig welder by my father and have started to teach myself and this site is very helpful but i ave a problem i hope you can help with
    i have been told that i can only get gas if i have a license and an account with a gas company but i doubt i will be doing enough to justify the costs
    is this true

at the moment i am using co2 that my dad can get from pub landlords that he knows he just takes the bottle in when ever it runs out hands over a few quid and takes a full bottle, this is fine for now but when i get better i have a few projects i would like to tackle using stainless steel and from the information i have found on here co2 will be no good for stainless

if my first question is true how could i get other gases and how long do the little halfords bottles last

2. malcolm

malcolm Hej!

In the UK you don't need a licence for shielding gas cylinders. Although a BOC account is about £50 per year and £30 for each bottle. If cost is a worry I'd be inclined to stick with CO2. For mild steel the welds aren't quite so neat and a bit spattery but still perfectly strong. (Did you see the welding gas comparison)?

It wouldn't be perfect on stainless - I think there is a danger of getting a bit of carbon into the metal which could cause surface rusting. If it's an exhaust system I probably wouldn't worry.

The little bottles from Halfords last for up to 1 metre of weld. It's easy to get through a few in an afternoon, so they aren't really a good alternative to BOC unless you only have a tiny amount of welding.

3. daz Member

the price of a boc account dont seem to bad
    i was told 50-60 per month for the bottles and 30 per refil, so 50 a year is a great improvment,but for know i will stick with co2 cause my dad gets it for about 10 a bottle and they are big bottles past my waist in height