Welding for MOT - What's required?

1. ZEDBED Member

Are there hard and fast rules governing the type of weld required by MOT inspection.

For instance I've heard everything must be seam welded, but seam welding right across a flat panel (VW bus rear arch bottom half) is going to warp it a bit. Is it ok to sort of half weld in on with say 10mm welds with gaps between?

What if it's a whole panel and was originally spot welded (outer sill)?

I'm not going to do anything structural like the chassis as I'm just learning the black art and wouldn't want it snapping in half.

I've googled but haven't had any luck finding the info - just loads of adverts for books.

Thanks in anticipation

2. migmag

migmag Member

North east
    Treet all auto welding as structural and yes repair pannels and patches must be seem welded for MOT work.

And dont cheet by welding the top and leaving the bottom.

Try and weld both sides and not cover any part of the patch up with sikaflex or some other gear.

To stop pannels warping you need to swap and change going from one part of the pannel to another welding an inch or so at a time this reduces heat build up.

Do the job right first time cos the worst thing in the world is getting a nock back from your tester.

3. Lippyp Member

Lancashire UK
    My first big structural job was sorting out the chassis on my Trooper, including making new bump stop mounts and a new body mount (theres a thread on it in the brew room) Just take it slow and steady.

I've just replaced the inner and outer sills, bottom of the kick panel and door pillar on my Chevy and have seam welded where metal has been cut or it was originally seam welded and plug welded the sections that were spot welded on to replicate this finish without a spot welder. It'll be going in for an MoT soon and we'll see what happens. The trooper passed first time and the MoT man actually commented on the quality of the work.

4. eternal optimist Member

West Berks