welding aluminium with cheap gasless mig ?

1. rob12770 Member

I realise this is a total noob question :ashamed: and i think i already know the answer :D but... is there wire available to weld aluminium with a cheap gasless 100A mig welder ?

i googled it but lots of conflicting views.. just thought id ask here, save time.
    cheers rob :waving:

2. Hood

Hood If it walks like a duck....

Not as far as I know and even if there was then 100Amps is not going to do you much for welding Alu correctly.

rob12770 likes this.
  3. Wozzaaah

Wozzaaah The wizard of woz Staff Member

Wiltshire, UK
    You do already know the answer. :D
    I’m not saying it “couldn’t” be done but it’s highly unlikely you’ll manage anything that looks remotely weld-like.

rob12770 likes this.
  4. lexi Member

paisley
    With 210 amps available on my Portamig, I have it wound well up to get ally firing, so 100 amps? I doubt it.
    With a cheap Mig, the feed system may struggle anyway. You need a decent feed and motor for ally.

rob12770 likes this.
  5. rob12770 Member

oh well. just a thought:rolleyes:
    cheers guys

6. gaz_moose Member

what do you have to do to get a portamig to weld ally? I had it in my head they couldn't do it as you cant swap the polarity.

oddbob likes this.
  7. Hood

Ideally for hassle free alu welding you want a push/pull gun or a Spool gun.
    The TecArc spool guns are good in the respect that they have their own in-line control box so no need to fit a PCB inside the welder. They are not cheap though so unless intending to do a lot of Alu welding then the easiest method is just get a teflon liner for your torch and preferably some soft wire rollers for the feed.

You need pure Argon and will need to be in spray transfer so really anything less than 3mm is not doable and even 3mm is not the best, 4mm upwards is fine.

rob12770 likes this.
  8. rob12770 Member