Welding a tank connector to aluminium

1. James7519 New Member

Hi guys just joined up looking for some help.

I’m completely new to welding I’m trying to build a aluminium tube radiator from scratch as a little hobby.

Im going to use 50mm x 50mm square aluminium tube and I’d cap the ends with a piece of square aluminium and weld the edges to seal it shut.

the tank connector would be inside the cap I weld on. I figure I can’t use a rubber grommet as the heat generated from welding the cap on would destroy the rubber grommet?

Do you guys have any advice on how I can achieve this?

my current plan would be to weld the tank connector directly to the aluminium cap but it is made of brass and I’ve read that there are issues with welding brass to aluminium?

thanks for any input you guys have

2. hotponyshoes Member

Can you not buy or make the connector in aluminium rather than brass and weld it on?
    The other option is use a thicker piece of aluminium for the end and tap a threaded hole to screw a connector into.
    Or, weld on one end, let it cool down, fit the plastic fitting with a long extension bar & socket then weld the other end on.

You might want to think about using round tube rather than square if possible as it will cool better.

Retired likes this.
  3. James7519 New Member

Update I’ve found out I can get an aluminium bung npt thread.
    prefer using square just for the designer flat panel look.

I’ve recently just found out I can get an aluminium npt weld on bung.

would these be easy to weld on?
    Thanks for your reply

4. James7519 New Member

Also if I’m on the right track can anyone recommend the cheapest option for a mig welder + spool gun that I could do this with? I don’t need any expert level kit. Just want to achieve a solid water tight join

thanks

5. slim_boy_fat

slim_boy_fat Forum Supporter