Weird welding noise

1. Omp New Member

So I'm fairly new to welding, always something I wanted to learn and I went for a parweld xte181c welder which I'm over the moon with. Been laying some what I believe to be nice welds down on virgin metal. I do know it's a different ball game when you start to weld cars and things with material that has some imperfections etc but I've come across a weird problem...

I'm welding a patch into a car and I'm finding the welder will rarely give me the typical "frying bacon" sound. The only way I can describe the sound is like a smooth wooshing sound instead of the pulsating popping and it will not continuously weld. I'm also getting a fair bit of burn back on the wire. Does this suggest it's all a feed issue?
    I'm using .6mm wire and gas is set to around 10lpm and I was working outside with little wind. Tried all variations of power and wire speed, turning wires speed up tended to help it happen less regular but only marginally

2. angellonewolf

angellonewolf Member

you need to stop the wind blowing away your gas

The_Yellow_Ardvark likes this.
  3. Wonderweaver

Wonderweaver Member

Could be the lack of gas best to cover the weld are with wind blockers or could be too high on the volts are are entering between spray and dip transfer.

4. Wonderweaver

Wonderweaver Member

Check your rollers also if they are too tight they can kink the wire travelling through the liner. You should be able to stop the wire with your finger with moderate pressure. If that doesn't solve it you need a new liner.

5. Omp New Member

I don't think I'm having a problem with gas coverage as the welds are not at all porous... When I have had a sudden gust of wind take me by surprise you can really tell in the porosity of the weld which doesn't seem to be an issue linked to this

6. The_Yellow_Ardvark

The_Yellow_Ardvark If in doubt ask. Same rules for everyone

Shield your work place.