Tooling for a Warco 240 lathe

1. I just bought a Warco 240 from JonE (not picked it up yet due to the weather) but need to buy some tooling as well as a MT2 drill chuck and live centre.

The choice seems to be infinite but as I'm a total novice don't know where to start.

For tooling should I go for HSS tools or ones with a carbide insert for example?

A problem I think I would have with HSS tooling would be regrinding as I've got no experience of that.

For the drill chuck and live centre I don't need super accuracy but also don't want to end up with junk?

I wont be doing a lot of work, just making up various parts/tools to help with my car restoration projects etc.

Last of all, does anyone have any idea where I can get offcuts in Fife to play around with?

fizzy likes this.
  2. JonE Forum Supporter

Hi Jim, will have a look when I'm back home, am sure I'll have some extra bits I can throw in at the weekend to get you started..

Regarding tooling, I've always had a mixture of both types. I would say it is easier to get a good finish on a small lathe with sharp HSS, but inserts are convenient, and probably a worthwhile baseline to compare your results against. (Honestly, if you have a bench grinder, then HSS tools are pretty straightforward to grind).

3. gaz1

gaz1 Forum Supporter

did you read richards thread post on the ml10 lathe as has alot of info on there as well

RaceDiagnostics likes this.
  4. slim_boy_fat

slim_boy_fat Forum Supporter

5. Kram

Kram Member

Hss is ok, look out for a good set of ready to use small boring tools. I rarely use hss for any bores bigger than 10mm. I am rubbish at grinding it, and grinding from a large blank is painful. H01 inserts always give me a much better finish, but they are extremely sharp.
    Chinese stuff is massively cheaper, and generally very good. Ive only had one unusable item out of 100's which was a bent er11 collet chuck.