Tig Welder - AC/DC

1. Baly

Baly New Member

Hey people, so I've been reading loads in the background and thought it's time to take the plunge in registering. I'm a hobbyist who enjoys modifying cars and no workshop would be complete without a decent ac/dc tig to start trialling ali intercoolers and their pipes and stainless exhausts, with other ali fabrication ideas.

Initially I was looking at a Cros-Arc 200 and for the £700 mark it doesn't seem like a bad machine (I've not trialled it). Then the thought of budget krept into my mind and I though what the heck maybe I should push up to the 2K mark and buy something decent (i'm not one to skimp on decent tools, which I know will have a better resale value).

So for the 2K mark what do you recommend? I've been looking at GYS 220's (love the synergetic screen where it self configs to material type) and the Esab Caddi 2400 too and thinking should I spend a bit more.....any assistance/recommendations are welcome.

Sorry if i'm all over the place, but i'm literally typing how i'm thinking right now, excited about a new purchase and full of questions, hoping for some further direction.

@Richard.
    @Tom Orrow L

Guys just wanted to say, you've been very helpful with your knowledge over the years of my reading the forum in the background and I wanted to take this opportunity to thank you both.

B

Tom Orrow L and Richard. like this.
  2. Baly

Baly New Member

Oh and it has to be Single Phase.

3. addjunkie

addjunkie Member

220 is a bit better than 200, occasionally I would like just a tad more! As the actress said to the bishop.

Brad93, Baly and stuvy like this.
  4. Baly

Baly New Member

Still looking and awaiting suggestions peeps.....if you prefer to PM me then please do so to discuss.

Ta

5. Munkul Member

Cumbria, UK
    Lorch handy tig 200 (maybe out of your price range though)

Might able to get an ESAB caddy tig for your budget if you look around.