tig noob with foot pedal query

1. Baldrick New Member

Hello there. Im totally new to this tig welding, but keen to learn.
    I bought a cheap tig from fleabay, from the land of the Cheap tig, China.
    Here it is tig4.jpg
    now im getting on ok, I think, but I need to know how the foot pedal connects to the welder. the welder has one gas outlet, to the torch, see here tig3.jpg but the foot pedal has 2 connections. I presume one in and one out. so if the in connection comes from the centre port in the pic above, the out should go to the torch? is this right, as the out has the 3 hole fixing too? what is the connection on the rhs of the gas for?

also while im here, I got some 2.4 tungsten, gas shield and collet etc from a mate.
    It fits BUT, the end cap doesn't screw all the way in, like it did with my 1.6 set up. Its past the red o ring, but is this safe? im guessing maybe not, but of course, im clueless.
    tig1.jpg Thanks for any advice, and please go easy on the numpties.
    Cheers. Any help with settings or any advice weldcome, im just playing with the amperage just now, post flow set to 5 seconds, heres my first ever attempt at welding, what you reckon? IMG_2852.jpg
    this was just playing about with amperages.

cheers for any help or advice.

• tig4.jpg
    • tig2.jpg
    • tig3.jpg
    • tig3.jpg
    • tig1.jpg
  2. carbon

carbon Member

Looks like one connection from the pedal should be a switch(centre connection) and second connection would be the variable resistor connection to the right of centre with three connections. Connecting the pedal would mean disconnecting the torch switch

Hopefuldave and wyn like this.
  3. Baldrick New Member

ok thanks for replying.i did kinda realise that the torch switch would be disconnected for the foot pedal to work.