Start up mig kit for beginner

1. njc110381 Member

Stroud, UK
    Morning guys,

It's been a very long time since I posted here. I came here for advice a couple of years ago and got some really helpful comments, and even an offer of some tuition from Cobbler, one of the members local to me. All in all it was a lovely experience but then work kicked off, we started organising rebuilding our house and my feet pretty much haven't touched the ground since! The end is in sight though house wise, so I've had time to sit down and think about what I was planning at the time.

I'd decided that I was going to probably buy a Clarke 160TM, but having come back here and done some reading there's another set that really stands out now. It's the R-Tech mig 180.

This machine offers stick welding and scratch start tig too. It's not considerably more money and my neighbour - a welder by trade, seems to think it looks ok.

What do you guys think about it as a start up machine for a complete novice? I'm thinking of buying it, and an arc electrode holder too so I can weld some fairly thick steel with it. I don't really have a set use, but bodywork and up to 6mm is likely to be what I need to do. As before, your thoughts would be very much appreciated.

2. slim_boy_fat

slim_boy_fat Forum Supporter

Hi and welcome back aboard. :waving:

Well, the machines like the R-Tech usually spark an avalanche of debate re 'Chinese' machines on here.....:whistle: Let's not repeat that lads, I'm sure njc can search for those if he wants. ;)

But to answer your question, that's the exact machine I bought as a complete beginner and can only say how impressed I've been, not only with the package but also the quality of the service from R-Tech which I can only describe as first class. If you want to see how I've got on, check my pics in the "Show us your welding cart/trolley" which'll give you an idea of my first project ever - not perfect but in my book acceptable for someone at my stage in welding.