Some mild steel outside corners

1. Tom_ERST_S2 Member

first time I’ve picked up a torch in around four or five weeks, can’t remember exactly, due to being away with work. Seeing as I’ve got two weeks off I decided I’d knock a fire pit up for the summer. All was going well until I had an issue. The steel started to fizz and spit and I ended up with some hideous holes in the weld bead.

I’d cleaned everything up with acetone after I’d cleaned the metal with an abrasive flap disc and even used a stainless wire brush. All filler was cleaned down as well as the stuff I have is honking straight from the pack.

Now as I’m a novice I can’t begin to figure why this happens so hopefully someone here will have the answer. If it’s down to me then I want to know so I can square it away as it ruins what was quite a nice run. 5A3BE498-AFF8-400D-90CF-D8F8C1DBFB10.jpeg E07F72DE-8917-40D2-A9F8-4B60E8ED347A.jpeg

This was an outside corner on 3mm cold rolled sheet, 80 amps. The pops happened before I even got filler into the puddle so doubt that’s the cause. Any ideas peeps?

And lastly some of the other runs. I did a bit on pulse, .7 frequency, 100 amps, 33% on time, 33% background current. Quite liked this as it gave me a nice little rhythm to settle into.

8A5C4794-4DF8-4CCB-BDE6-795EA4CE9A20.jpeg 598BCA05-5169-479D-AEA3-7E96EC9FE555.jpeg

Cheers

Tom

2. Richard.

Richard. Member

That’s a shame that’s happening Tom. Those are lovely neat outside corners there. It’s nice to see the tuition has got you off to a flying start.
    Ref your holes it’s definitely a contamination issue. I can see that from the porosity in the two spots. Sounds like you’ve covered all basis on the prep front but what is the back side like. Any scale or contaminants on the back will do this as you arc through into them.

Tom_ERST_S2 likes this.
  3. Tom_ERST_S2 Member