Snap on 130 Mig wire feed liner

1. John Blackburn New Member

Hello

I am a novice welder restoring my classic cars and new to this forum.

I have recently had all my tools stolen including my mig.

I have been given a snap-on 130 turbo mig welder. The person who gave it to me said it wasn't used much and was working when they stored it away, but it is an old unit. It looks okay and seems to be working. When I switch it on it springs into life but the wire feed has issues. It is my intention to get it working before I spend any much money on it. The reason for this is I am trying to replace my tools and as I have been given this little welder for nothing I thought I would try and get it going.

I replaced the liner with a plastic one but had a difficult job getting it in the protective sheath. I must have slightly damaged it and the wire although it does go through, there is too much friction and it gets stuck. It could also be because I bought a cheap plastic liner.

I was wondering if I could get a metal liner to fit this torch. It is the older welder with a 2m torch cable.

If one is still available where can I get it from?

Thanks
    Jack

2. Cobbler

Cobbler Codger bodger

Welcome to the forum. I don’t know anything about that particular welder, but the plastic liners are pretty awful, the wire bites into the plastic & will not run nicely. I can’t say whether a steel liner is available for that model, but I’m sure one for another could be modified or use curtain wire, I’ve not tried it but a lot have used it with great success, it’s exactly the same size & dirt cheap. Just don’t let the Mrs see you take it though.

3. John Blackburn New Member

Thanks, that is actually helpfull I wasn't sure about curtain wire whether or not it would fit into the push fit fittings on the torch. Its worth a try anyway.

I just want to see if this welder works and if it is worth keeping.

I just dont want to spend all my pocket money on one item at the moment.

Jack

4. johnik