Searching for a better welding helmet

1. DennisCA

DennisCA Member

I have a pretty cheap model, I think it's OK but it's no quality helmet, it came with the potentiometer wires the wrong way so when I turn up the shading it goes down and vice versa. So I'm using it backwards! I have no experience with any other helmets however and little to no chance of testing them.

So I am left with just googling my way ahead, going on what others say, trying to build up some general impressions. There are currently two masks I am considering.

One is the Aketek which is owned by the guy who invented the speedglass technology to begin with:
    http://aketek.com/

Looking at the Nova helmet there and locally it's priced around 190€ + shipping. Anyone here used this brand? I think it's not very well known, only started in 2015 I think.

Then there's the Kemppi which I can get locally for 229€ + shipping
    https://www.kemppi.com/en-US/offering/product/beta-90x/

I think this one is slightly more known than the Aketek but still quite unknown outside the nordic countries. But I tend to give a lot of trust to Kemppi products.

I don't know, there are a lot of helmets and manufacturers out there. I think ESAB has some good helmets too, but I really don't want to be buying the wrong helmet here, as in I don't want it to limit me like I feel my current helmet is doing. I really value clarity of vision. I also hear good things about Miller but they are not common where I am.

Optrel I have gotten the impression of as the cream of the crop of welding helmets but sadly too expensive. I welcome any feedback from owners of this, especially if you have experience with other brands and can compare. I believe the E684 is the current top model.

2. DennisCA

DennisCA Member