Sea Fishing...

1. Ashley Burton

Ashley Burton Member

I would like to give sea fishing a go when I'm off travelling, Does anyone have any great experience?

I don't have any kit atm, But would like to get some basic stuff to get me started

Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated

2. Migmac

Migmac Forum Supporter

Boat or beach/rock?

If off the shore I just use a half decent spinning rod and reel. Rod needs to able to cast a reasonable weight
    Off a boat I use the same spinning rod for Mackerel, fishing for anything bigger I use a boat rod and a multiplier reel

slim_boy_fat and Rannsachair like this.
  3. Ashley Burton

Ashley Burton Member

Coastal fishing

What's a reasonable weight in your eyes? As I'm seeing 6oz as a suggestion

I'm a complete novice, So more advice the better in my eyes!

Parm likes this.
  4. Migmac

Migmac Forum Supporter

I’ll check my rod tomorrow and let you know

Ashley Burton likes this.
  5. hotponyshoes Member

The amount of weight you need depends on how much current (tide) there is and how thick the line you are using is so it can be anything from 2-10oz+.

If you are fishing from the beach then try practicing the casting in an empty field first as you wont be very popular if you are snapping the line on the beach and chucking 8oz leads through the air at people!

6. Rannsachair

Rannsachair Forum Supporter

I use a 5 or 6 oz weight for beach casting with 15/20 lb line, though mainly go out in the boat with shorter boat rods.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

steve t, duncans, 8ob and 6 others like this.
  7. Tinbasherdan

Tinbasherdan Bodger in chief