Rusty Nissan all ideas welcome!

1. Warren 2 Member

England
    Just got myself a 4.2d Nissan Patrol which needs some welding, was going to buy 2 new wings but Nissan wanted £500 + vat :o Cant find any aftermarket ones so i guess i will have to repair the old ones. Im really after some advice and ideas. Im not a professional welder by any means but i have some basic tools. I have done a bit of research and my plan is to cut away the rest of the rust on the arches back to sound metal and then use a strecher-shrinker to form the curve for the replacement piece and weld this in place using my new Portamig when it arrives :D the sills i was planning to make up using a box pan type folder and then weld in place. Ideally i would like to do most of the welding on a bench with my tig as this is how i have been learning to weld but obviously the sills will have to be done in place so i guess i will have to learn to mig a bit better! I have access to pretty much any tool thinkable as the guy who has been teaching me to weld said i can use his workshop on Saturdays but i don't want to pester him to help me with the actual work unless necessary. Does my plan sound feasable or is there an easier/more sensible way? Cheers

• IMG_0237.jpg
    • IMG_0238.jpg
    • IMG_0236.jpg
  2. Long and slow beat with a panel beating hammer. If need be make it in sections weld the section together to form the shape. Then very large tub of body filler to fine tune the shape. :o

3. the wheelarch should be as easy as there looks to be a good 2 inches of a flat flare before it meets the bodywork proper

4. Warren 2 Member

England