Raspberry Pi SDR scanner

  1. Kayos

    Kayos Member

    Messages:
    4,919
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Santa brought me a Raspberry Pi 4 for Christmas this year :)

    I already had the 7" touch screen from a previous idea and I bought a couple of heatsink type cases as my son also got a Rpi4 for christmas

    So far I've had it working on the big monitor but the install script for the 7" display seems to break hdmi audio output, was going to use it for convenience but I have a cheap usb sound card arriving tomorrow. Hopefully that solves it

    I'm not a software expert but the script just seems to modify the X11 config file so if the driver for the touch screen is detected it forces it into 1024 x 600 resolution, however it just seems to keep it at the resolution all the time

    If I start the sdr software in a terminal it shows an Alsa hardware error, even plugged into a normal monitor (the resolution also stays at 1024 x 600)

    Maybe I could just add that as an option manually and select it before I plug the screen in?

    Any Linux experts, does that seem reasonable?

    The SDR software runs well, just using a cheap adapter for now, I may upgrade once it's running nice

    I've also played with over clocking with good success, 2ghz cpu and 650mhz gpu stays at 50 deg under load with the heatsink case, that's cooler than running stock (1.5ghz and 500mhz)

    I've just ordered a nice aluminium desktop case from RS

    Quick pic of it on test

    20191229_173520.jpg

    More to follow once more bits arrive
     
    Shedendman, Parm and daleyd like this.
  2. sako243

    sako243 Member

    Messages:
    635
    Location:
    My mansion in Wales
    The ALSA error is not related to the display. ALSA if I remember correctly stands for Advanced Linux Sound Architecture. I've played with it a little bit on a custom platform (based of the Xilinx / Avnet / Analog Picozed SDR) and basically it was a case of mashing keys until sound magically started playing and then saving the config before it was lost forever.

    Can you post what's in dmesg and /var/log/messages?
     
  3. Shedendman

    Shedendman Member

    Messages:
    3,683
    east sussex
    gaz1 and Kayos like this.
  4. Kayos

    Kayos Member

    Messages:
    4,919
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    It is, I've found the fault :)

    Basically it sets another flag that tells alsa (or Jack or pulseaudio) that you are using a monitor so it disables hdmi audio. I can either change the flag (or more likely) just manually set the resolution instead
     
    Shedendman likes this.
  5. Kayos

    Kayos Member

    Messages:
    4,919
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Success!
    The settings to get the 7" monitor to work prevent HDMI audio and therefore onboard audio from working

    The usb sound card works spot on and ive disabled onboard audio.

    Quick test and I need to connect to a decent antenna for some proper listening

    20191230_115435.jpg
     
    Parm likes this.
  6. Maker

    Maker nEw mEmBeR

    Messages:
    6,884
    Location:
    Don't ask questions
    What's the plan for it? I've got the same USB SDR dongle thing, I wanted to receive image data from weather satellites but it turned out to be a lot of effort and the satellite in the guide I was following has been decommissioned anyway. :doh:
     
  7. Kayos

    Kayos Member

    Messages:
    4,919
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Just want to use it as a desktop scanner, nice antenna high up and a bit nicer to look at than the screen on my 125.
     
    Maker likes this.
  8. 500e

    500e Always buy fire insurance a flood is hard to start

    Messages:
    4,040
    Location:
    SWest UK
    Did not think you were a Virgin listener kayos :D
     
  9. Kayos

    Kayos Member

    Messages:
    4,919
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Strong broadcast station to make sure it wasnt an issue with the receive end

    But you are correct, radio 2 or 4 most days
     
    500e likes this.
  10. Robotstar5

    Robotstar5 Casanunda Staff Member

    Messages:
    17,861
    Location:
    Birmingham
    The pic reminded me of the PSK31 "waterfall" can it receive/decode PSK?, I worked a fair few countries on that mode.
     
  11. Kayos

    Kayos Member

    Messages:
    4,919
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Never done it but a quick Google shows software is readily available, will be something to add to the list :)
     
    Robotstar5 likes this.
  12. Robotstar5

    Robotstar5 Casanunda Staff Member

    Messages:
    17,861
    Location:
    Birmingham
    I worked quite a few South American countries with 10W on 20m using PSK31
     
  13. Kayos

    Kayos Member

    Messages:
    4,919
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    I've never transmitted on it, these days I'm mostly on 2m, got plenty of locals using it near me
     
  14. maz0

    maz0 Member

    Messages:
    515
    Location:
    Central Scotland
    When you get bored of it, stick PiHole on it and shove it in your router cupboard :thumbup:
     
  15. Kayos

    Kayos Member

    Messages:
    4,919
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Already have that running on an Orange Pi zero, it's great not having adverts even on apps
     
    brewdexta, maz0 and Maker like this.
  16. Kayos

    Kayos Member

    Messages:
    4,919
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Case has arrived from RS, just doing a bit of laying out

    Most of the cables are pre terminated so once it's full of stuff I imagine lots of cable ties and sticky bases will be needed

    20191231_141827.jpg
     
    Parm, Maker and eLuSiVeMiTe like this.
  17. Kayos

    Kayos Member

    Messages:
    4,919
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Bit more done today, still waiting on a few Ebay parcels, may have had a bit of project creep but that's what happens

    20200102_190607.jpg

    USB hubs are fixed with strong double sided tape, the Pi is bolted from the bottom through both heat sinks, should aid cooling

    I've had a bit of an issue with usb having a breakdown, this could be due to the hubs or possibly the mounting of the dongle.

    Bit more testing needed, I've been in 2 minds about a 12v power supply but it's looking more and more like it's the best option

    Dongle mounted

    20200102_190616.jpg

    Antenna connection, will probably change this for a flying lead type adapter

    20200102_190629.jpg
     
    Parm likes this.
Advertisements