Raspberry Pi SDR scanner

1. Kayos

Kayos Member

Santa brought me a Raspberry Pi 4 for Christmas this year :)

I already had the 7" touch screen from a previous idea and I bought a couple of heatsink type cases as my son also got a Rpi4 for christmas

So far I've had it working on the big monitor but the install script for the 7" display seems to break hdmi audio output, was going to use it for convenience but I have a cheap usb sound card arriving tomorrow. Hopefully that solves it

I'm not a software expert but the script just seems to modify the X11 config file so if the driver for the touch screen is detected it forces it into 1024 x 600 resolution, however it just seems to keep it at the resolution all the time

If I start the sdr software in a terminal it shows an Alsa hardware error, even plugged into a normal monitor (the resolution also stays at 1024 x 600)

Maybe I could just add that as an option manually and select it before I plug the screen in?

Any Linux experts, does that seem reasonable?

The SDR software runs well, just using a cheap adapter for now, I may upgrade once it's running nice

I've also played with over clocking with good success, 2ghz cpu and 650mhz gpu stays at 50 deg under load with the heatsink case, that's cooler than running stock (1.5ghz and 500mhz)

I've just ordered a nice aluminium desktop case from RS

Quick pic of it on test

20191229_173520.jpg

More to follow once more bits arrive

Shedendman, Parm and daleyd like this.
  2. sako243

sako243 Member

The ALSA error is not related to the display. ALSA if I remember correctly stands for Advanced Linux Sound Architecture. I've played with it a little bit on a custom platform (based of the Xilinx / Avnet / Analog Picozed SDR) and basically it was a case of mashing keys until sound magically started playing and then saving the config before it was lost forever.

Can you post what's in dmesg and /var/log/messages?

3. Shedendman

Shedendman Member

east sussex