Not enough penetration

1. gjkathome New Member

Hi I have bought a second-hand Clarke 135TE Turbo. I have done some rudimentary maintenance; cleaned it, new tip, new shroud, adjusted wire tension. I'm new to all this.
    I have been practising on 1.5 mm mild-steel sheet using CO2. The welder has two switches labeled 1-2 and Min-Max respectively. Following advice in the manual I have set these to 2 and Min with wire-speed set to 6. This seems to get me close to the sizzling bacon sound but there seems to be no penetration - the weld just seems to sit on top of the sheet, I do not get the equal-sized bulges top and bottom as illustrated in the tutorial (https://www.mig-welding.co.uk/power-setting/mini-sectioned-welds.jpg).
    I have tried playing with the wire speed, welding speed and height of the shroud above the work. I seem to be able to get bigger beads but still no penetration. I have tried setting the second switch to Max. On a couple of occasions this has resulted in some penetration but I have found it very easy to blow holes.
    Any advice please?

2. Matrixx

Matrixx Member

Can you put some pics up? sounds like not enough voltage?

3. gjkathome New Member

More info. I have measured the voltages at the various settings:
    1 MIN 9.5v
    1 MAX 13.2v
    2 MIN 11.0v
    2 MAX 16.4v

Seems odd as the manual suggests that 2 MIN should be higher than 1 MAX.

4. Rrobson

Rrobson Member

Is polarity correct?

Munkul likes this.
  5. a111r Member

Those OCVs are way out. For a similar Clarke model (90, 100) they should range from 18 v to 28 v.
    They are renown for corrosion on the crimp to the inductor and earth, causing high resistance. There a picture of this on a fairly recent Clarke thread of mine.

The TE models are all fixed polarity, torch positive.

tom2207 and eddie49 like this.
  6. a111r Member

7. gjkathome New Member

8. MattF

MattF Member

The thread title sounds like the story of my life, these last couple of years. :D

9. Nick DV