No Gas welder

1. rotivator

rotivator Member

My powercraft no gas welder stopped working. When I opened the top the wire had run out. I replaced the wire and the welder still did not work. I found a loose wire in the torch handle and the machine came to life but the wire feed won't work. I disconnected the motor and it works on a battery. The motor works and the drive wheel moves. When it's reconnected no wire feed. I am no expert on repairs could anyone give me any advice on how to proceed?
    Powercraft Mig welder 25-130amps

2. gordon stephenson

gordon stephenson Forum Supporter

Tell us a little about yourself, and the welders intended use, repairs projects etc, I'm sure one of our members well versed in the inner workings of your machine will post shortly.

3. rotivator

rotivator Member

Thanks for the reply. I am new to this so I don't know what I am doing. I am retired just doing some DIY in the garden. I have had the welder for a few years and it's been ok up to now. It' had very little use and the fault just appeared when the wire ran out

4. gordon stephenson

gordon stephenson Forum Supporter

Im sure someone will reply soon, There are some very clever and diverse members here and understand the inner workings of welding sets, Im more of a mechanical person and the electrics are just "white mans magic" me.

5. rotivator

rotivator Member

I have now disconnected the motor and tested it on a battery and its ok. I have now connected a voltmeter across the wires that feed the motor and I get NO voltage when I press the trigger. I am now lost on what to do. Can anyone help?

6. mike 109444

mike 109444 Member

uk Bristol
    Can you post a (nice clear) pic of the pcb as then will try and advise what and where to check
    And welcome BTW :hug:

7. Bill Edwards Member