Newbie.. Power requirements for a lincoln speed tec 215c

1. Tally New Member

from the uk and done some arc welding and the occasional gasless mig which i really hated (or is it just me) but now looking for a nice bit of welding kit..

Recently had a 32amp blue socket installed with a 40amp breaker behind it so now i can actually get a decent mig.. But can i safely hook up the listed machine to my plug using a 32amp plug? because it says it has a 16amp fuse?

I am also planning to use a argon mix gas 20 litre bottle.. how long would that last you reckon?

And lastly what would you say is the best all round wire to fit? because i want to use a 15kg spool of 1mm solid wire for welding 3-6mm box section or sheet metal.. normally and the occasional real thick 15mm steel..

Help would be hugely appreciated because like i said im a newbie here hehe

2. fnlvder Forum Supporter

32A plug is no problem but you should really swap the 40A breaker for a 16/20A instead

3. addjunkie

addjunkie Member

Is the 16amp fuse internal to your machine?

4. fnlvder Forum Supporter

I made that last post after a quick look at the sales blurb and saw 16a mentioned. After downloading the manual it appears that 16a supply is good for up to 160a welding current and if you want full output it recommends a 25a breaker.

Memmeddu likes this.
  5. 123hotchef Member

why not a 32amp breaker?

Memmeddu likes this.
  6. 123hotchef Member

who installed the 32amp socket with a 40amp breaker? Just curious

7. fnlvder Forum Supporter

There's no fuse in the plug so the breaker is the protection for the cable and machine.

When I posted that I was wrongly assuming that 16A was the max current required. Lincoln recommends a 25A breaker in the manual.

32a isn't much more than 25a but if you're replacing the breaker anyway you might as well go with the recommended size

8. 123hotchef Member

9. addjunkie

addjunkie Member

123hotchef likes this.
  10. Memmeddu

Memmeddu Member

The fuse doesn't matter