New to Welding, So Many options Any Advice Please

1. waynerp New Member

Hi All.
    So I am new to welding and have only used a basic Arc Welder, but want to purchase a Mig/Tig welder to start practising and practising some more.
    The goal is to start welding on my projects which will be mainly non strictural parts of frames on motorbikes etc, so it will be 2mm mild steel that i will mainly be using.

Although I am a total novice and there is a lot of learning and practice ahead of me I ideally want to make the right purchase first time. Sure if i get into it in a few years i might need upgrade machines, but for now i plan on making the right choice first time.
    I am looking at machines that also give me the ability to try out TIG welding, so here are a couple i have found

In your experience will these be ok, or am i way off the mark??

Any advice much appreciated

So I am looking at kit like the GYS EasyMIG 160
    https://www.weldingsuppliesdirect.c...t/mig-welders/gys-easymig-160-mig-welder.html

or a Thermal Arc Fabricator 181i
    https://www.unitedwelding.co.uk/the...e-230v-ce-for-mig--tig--arc-welding-168-p.asp

2. Tom Orrow L

Tom Orrow L Welding Supplies Direct

Hi Wayne, if you're wanting a MIG/ Lift TIG set i'd not go for the EasyMIG 160 as its a scratch start only.
    The Thermal Arc Fabricator 181 is a good bit of kit and will see you well for a starter machine and, at that price point, is really the only one i'd consider.

If you increase the budget to around £950 then you've got a few more options, the first i'd consider would be the GYS Multi Pearl 200-2, a really nice fully synergic multi process machine.

Jlg likes this.
  3. weldequip Forum Sponsor

If it's mainly tubular frame work I'd be looking for a dedicated TIG machine, all the mentioned are essentially MIG sets with the ability to also do basic TIG.

Tom Orrow L likes this.
  4. waynerp New Member

Hi Tom.