Narrowboat welding

1. transit01 New Member

Hi.
    To cut a long story short, I am restoring an old narrowboat and need to do quite a lot of repairs and new fabrication welding. I intend to do as much of this as possible whilst the boat is on the water. I will only be welding the top half of the boat as the hull work will be done when I take the boat out for its inspection etc.
    I'm new to welding although I did quite a bit when I was an apprentice toolmaker, mind you that was 35 years ago.
    Can anyone give me hints and tips please especially around the safety aspect?
    Also, can MIG welders be run successfully off a generator?
    Many thanks Dan

2. rory1 likes this.
  3. Ashley Burton

Ashley Burton Member

Can't beat some Arc/Stick welding!

Did some repairs on a friends boat which was good experience.

What sort of welding jobs need doing? Pictures are always helpful

4. the snooper

the snooper getting older by the day

You will need a large generator 8kva plus

Parm likes this.
  5. Justme

Justme Member

Wind will be your enemy.

Parm, 123hotchef and Ashley Burton like this.
  6. Ashley Burton

Ashley Burton Member

You could use flux core wire without gas, But not something I would choose by choice! Dragging a MIG welder around compared to a inverter Arc Welder, I know what I would pick

jerrytug likes this.
  7. AdrianH Member

A quick question that may be of help to @transit01

I was under the impression from some posts on here in 2018, that any hull repairs now could not be just plated over, but if a section was bad that the section cut out and replaced, i.e. a complete patch?

Now i am wondering if this is correct or not as I just did a search and realise some boat yards are still, plating or over plating?

Adrian

8. jerrytug

jerrytug Forum Supporter

Not a direct answer but hopefully helpful:

I have a big steel barge. The plating is too thick to weld with a MIG running from 13A 240ac mains, the boatyard supply.