Mk2 3.4 MOD Jaguar restoration

1. Patrick Gill

Patrick Gill Member

ok, never done a thread like this before, it will be in fits and starts as I get bored and work on other things etc.
    My first car was a Triumph Herald coupe, I was too young to drive and it never made it onto the road, next car was my MGA I bought for £100.00 and restored it at home, whilst restoring that I passed my test and bought a Hillmn Minx 1500 that a woman had brought into the garage where I was an apprentice, £25.00 with full MOT, and a front easy clean bench seat,

next car was a Mk2 3.8 MOD Jaguar,

This project is a 240, the run out model with vinyl seats, slim bumpers, cheaper carpet and no picnic tables, I don't want a 240 so will be upgrading it to Mk2 3.4 spec. leather seats, fat bumpers etc.

I bought this project from Ebay a few years ago, it had been in a Bristol lockup since 1980, the owners bought it and then got jobs overseas in the oil industry, I removed it from the lockup with a mate, somewhere I have pictures,

The 2.4 engine was seized so I removed it whilst at work and steam cleaned it all, then left it until I retired, I bought a running but damaged 5 speed manual XJ6 ser3 3.4 for the engine and box but decided to keep the overdrive box so sold the 5 speed to cover the costs,

2. Patrick Gill

Patrick Gill Member

I have been buying parts mainly from Ebay for the last 5 years when they come along at the right price and not too far away if they need to be collected,

I have most of the exterior chrome in good but not show condition, just need a n/s/r window frame, the only bits I have in for rechrome so far are the fat bumpers,
    A good running 3.4 engine, original style big flat airfilter assy,
    A set of leather seats with picnic tables that should revive, want a patinated look,
    A good looking petrol tank found at Beaulieu jumble for £25.00!!!