MightyMig 130XT Mk2 - Which neck?

1. Baines93 Member

Hi all,

I am new here. I'm Matt, from (near) Reading, Berkshire, UK. I am a Vehicle Dynamics Engineer (historic motorsport) with an engineering degree. I have MIG welded once or twice before, but I am hoping to start to restore a classic Mini I have owned since I was 16 at some point this year.

My step dad has an ancient Sealey MightyMig 130XT Turbo MkII in the garage which i'm hoping I can utilise. My uncle welded up a crack in my Mini subframe years ago with it, and said the wire feed kept stopping whatever he did - very frustrating.

Trying it cold, the feed seems to work fine, but I have found the tip is fit for the bin and the neck is falling apart, and there is no gas shroud, so i'm planning to buy a new neck, shrouds, and tips - then hopefully I can get practising :laughing: I think i'll treat it to a new wire liner too.

Can anyone confirm the neck type so I can replace it please? Photo 23-10-2016, 23 51 06.jpg Photo 23-10-2016, 23 50 54.jpg Photo 23-10-2016, 23 50 20.jpg Photo 23-10-2016, 23 50 03.jpg

I think the neck is an MB14 hobbyist type neck with screw on gas nozzle/shroud (but the old one has a nut on the torch end, which clamps down onto the torch internals, and i've not seen these nuts on the MB14 necks on eBay - I can put it on a new one though). The broken bit is the remains of an internal part of a gas shroud, I think, looking at pictures online?

I thought it might be an MB15 and that the broken part might be a tip adapter and that the spring and shroud are missing, but I think it's possibly a broken screw on shroud, since the tip screws straight into the end of the neck.

Thanks in advance. Really looking forward to being a part of your great community :)

Matt

Last edited: Oct 24, 2016
  2. Mee Banned

Pity you're not nearer to me as you could strip an old SIP set down I have, and get what you want for free.

3. Baines93 Member