Machine Setup

1. Slimline2020 Member

Hi I am new to Mig Welding
    I have done lots of home work and I am ok with gas setup and what wire to use which is 0.8mm for mild steel.

My machine is not the most straightforward things to use as the manual says nothing about settings etc.
    I don't know what the dial is next to the power button I think it's the volt setting control but it says 0-4 any ideas on what these numbers are and how many volts per setting? I would greatly appreciate any help.

Thanks

• IMG_20190213_192937.jpg
  2. Kent

Kent Member

1 being the least umph, 4 being the most umph.
    Wind it up to max on this switch and max on wire and just work the wire back keeping a short stick out of wire and try a weld (dont forget to connect the return lead) till it gives an even crackle and does not spit n stutter. Record the setting
    Next step down do the same etc etc

I am assuming you have gas shielding or the appropriate flux core wire

3. matt1978

matt1978 http://www.uk.masters-of-speed.de/

Just zoomed in on your data plate, you can see minimum and maximum voltage levels.

Position 1 will be 16v
    Position 4 will be 21.5v

Positions 2-3 will obviously be inbetween the min and the max but it’s not necessarily linear.

It says the current range is 60-150 amps. Unfortunately you won’t be welding much at the thinner end of the material thickness range with a starting current of 60 amps

123hotchef likes this.
  4. Slimline2020 Member

Hey,