M300 Tailstock Refurb- Boring and sleeve

1. Shox Dr

Shox Dr Chief Engineer to Carlos Fandango

The tailstock on my Harrison M300 was badly bell mouthed, so over the last 5 nights I've been boring the tailstock out to take a 50mm phosphor bronze sleeve.

The base had been hand scrapped in by Slideway Services, and was parallel to the bed, so if I wanted machine a taper then the top will still be on the same axis.

I was lucky in that a mate had given me a 350x25mm Sandvik insert boring bar:whistle: a while back. So this was chucked up in a 200mm 4jaw chuck. I've never done this before so a Little head scratching and it was setup.

The close up is after a few passes, taking almost bang on 23 minutes (need snoring doofer) for one pass at 180rpm

• Boring bar.jpg
    • Boring bar close up.jpg
    eLuSiVeMiTe likes this.
  2. Shox Dr

Finally got it bored out to size, and checked with a Mitutoyo Dial bore gauge, and was within 0.04 in its whole lenght:D

So how to put put the Phosphor Bronze sleeves in.... well I've had this length of 20mm Acme threaded bar sat in the corner of god knows how long looking for a job.

So they were shouldered to fit the sleeve and the end of the tailstock, to centre the bar.

• Acme bar.jpg
    • Acme stepped nut 1.jpg
  3. Shox Dr

Tailstock clamped in ali jaws in the vice. A pair of pump pliers and it was wound in, took some doing but it's in....

• Winding in.jpg
    • Almost.jpg
    decca likes this.
  4. wyn

wyn Member

Nice work Shox.

How did you move the tailstock towards the chuck when you were boring it out?

5. Shox Dr

Unfortunately that was only 1 of 2 sleeves :laughing: Might have to weld a socket to one of the Acme nuts, so I can put the windy gun on the end:laughing:

• only halfway there.jpg
  6. Shox Dr

Put it in front of the saddle, adjusted the camlock bolt so the powered feed didn't slip when locked it off, and ran it a 180rpm at 0.01mm feed. 24mins a pass:drunk::whistle: So only did a few per night.