Help for a newbie

1. Tedders New Member

Hello all
    New to the forum, and to welding.
    I am researching my first MIG machine and could do with some sensible advice please.
    Total novice welder, I understand the theory but have not had the practice.
    Currently restoring an old motorbike and need to do some rear fender fabrication and weld on mounting tabs etc to the frame.
    Frame thickness 3mm, mounting tabs 6.5mm, all mild steel
    Older Motorcycles are typical of what I will be playing about with.
    Living in Dubai, there is no such thing as the ‘hobbyist welder’ so the selection of machines is poor. Either generic Chinese which I can’t get background spec info on or some ESAB units which I can’t afford.
    Ideally I want a machine which will do me for a few years; it’ll be sporadic projects on motorbikes etc.
    I’ve come across the Telwin Technomig 210 which seems to be ok and is a multiprocess machine for approx £450 new set up for gas less MIG. I will be using Gas MIG as I’ve been told it’s better to use.

From you experienced folk, does the technomig 210 sound suitable for my needs?

Also, when people talk about ‘you need x amps to weld x mm thick material’ what are you actually looking for here? For example, From what I’ve read, 140 amps is required for 4mm thick mild steel, but if I have a 4mm thick piece of mild steel, surely I don’t want to weld all the way through it? What is my reference point - if I have a 4mm thick steel, am I trying to weld 2mm of that and so need only say 100amps, confused on this one.

Appreciate any pointers you can give

thanks very much

2. bourbon Member

This may sound like a really idiotic question. But what is the main voltage in Dubai? Something I have never given much thought to

Mark 2 likes this.
  3. Tedders New Member

same system as U.K. 230v
    Same 3 pin plug

that raises another question, at what point can you no longer connect a welding machine to a regular mains socket?

4. Will! Member