Flattening a welding/fabrication table

1. JonE Forum Supporter

Am just putting a new table together, with a box section frame & a waterjet cut 1400x800x15mm mild steel top. All good except the plate turned up a bit more warped than I'd like. Is probably only +/- 2mm, but enough to be an annoyance when clamping larger pieces.

Considering my options for getting the top flatter, and wondering what has the best chance of success? I have no experience of trying to move anything this thick.
    1. Add some additional 50mm box section cross members, bolt down the high points & pack up the low points. (What will move first, the table top or the frame?).
    2. Try to press it flat with some C channel and a bottle jack.
    3. Invest in some oxy propane kit, and have a go at heat straightening. (Have no experience, but always keen to learn new skills).
    Open to any suggestions suitable for a home workshop, thanks!

Screenshot from 2019-12-04 13-14-31.png

2. Brad93

Brad93 M J B Engineering

You can get steel sheets “ploughed” from some suppliers. Then bed your plate on the frame with a bedding compound and jack screws.

If you buy plate from SSAB they’re guaranteed to a certain flatness.

JonE likes this.
  3. hotponyshoes Member

I would not think 50mm box will stand a chance of bending 15mm plate but if you have some you could try laying it onto the side that is risen in the middle and seeing if the edges will pull down to it with some clamps?

You might be able to weld up an H or I beam run from the 50mm but I would think you would stand more chance with rsj for that thickness.

You might be able to jack it back flat, maybe a couple of big ratchet straps around the ends, bricks or blocks to make enough space to get a jack in.

I would not like to try heat on something like that but only because I would not want to mess it up. I am sure it would work nicely if you knew where to heat it. I suppose you could do a practice run on a scrap piece first?