feed liner

1. Derek c New Member

hi ,im very new to mig welding,i have bought a used sealy 180/1 mig plant,and i need a new liner,
    how do i know which one to get ,it has a type 15 nozzle thats all i know,
    thanks in advance for any advice

2. cumbriasteve

cumbriasteve Moderator Staff Member

Welcome to the forum, one of the most popular methods for replacing liners is to use the steel curtain wire and just cut it to the length of the old liner.

Hopefuldave and slim_boy_fat like this.
  3. Derek c New Member

Thank you .so are all liners the same ie universal apart from length ?

4. Derek c New Member

Thanks .so are all liners universal apart from the length ?

5. cumbriasteve

cumbriasteve Moderator Staff Member

I am no expert on mig's but as far as I know the basic machines are, I have used curtain wire on two of mine and also done friends machines for them.

Hopefuldave likes this.
  6. mike 109444

mike 109444 Member

uk Bristol
  7. Derek c New Member

I pulled the old nylon black liner out tonight and its diameter is 4 mm with a hole big enough to take .8 and .6 wire.
    I have put a length of curtain plastic coated wire in as a replacement. Thè dimensions were the same.the wire is now in and the feed is running perfectly.
    All i need now is a regulator and a kit to change over to 4mm gas feed. Then i can get the 180 going.and do some welding.

tinker jim and cumbriasteve like this.
  8. Derek c New Member

After getting the machine set up with gas.i switched it on . The power light was flickering and then went out then i switched it back on again and power light stayed on ..so pulled the trigger to weld gas was coming through.but the wire feed roller stopped spinning completely .could the problem be the curtain wire liner i fitted might be causing a short circuit .? Im baffled because yesterday the wire feed was good. Any advice would be gratefully received

9. mike 109444

mike 109444 Member

uk Bristol