Review EWM Picomig 180 Puls - Single Phase

1. hotponyshoes Member

Had an early Friday finish today and it's nearly Christmas so I picked up a EWM Picomig 180 Puls.

20181222_083543.jpg

I will do a bit of a write-up on why I went for this machine and some things I have found out when researching it.

If you just want to get into the actual review & pics then it will start a couple of posts down!

1st note if you are looking for info on these, is that EWM spell it Puls not Pulse and you will get more results on a google search if you look for both spellings!

Background:

I would class myself as a hobby welder, I am self employed and although I use welding a few times a month for my 'day' job the majority of the welding is done in the workshop in evenings or at the weekend. Tig, Mig and Stick, Anything from 0.5mm Saucepan Handles to 50mm digger bucket teeth.

My reasons for getting this machine are below and please bear in mind that my review is based against those reasons only. Also, I have never MIG welded alloy before so I would like to point out that this is my experience with how I get on with the first few uses.

Also, I will only really be reviewing my impressions of the machine, and its use on MIG welding alloy. I expect I will try steel and stainless MIG at some stage but I am not planing to use the Tig or Stick parts of it. If anybody wants me to try something let me know as it takes me a while to get round to it!

The official EWM promotional video:

says the machine is ideal for car work or hobby welders so I am expecting it to be fairly simple to set up and use and have good parts support and service available as required.