DIY Blast Cabinet

1. I have been considering doing my own blasting for a couple of years now, on the basis that I like doing things myself rather than pay someone else :-)

Compressor
    Anyway, I picked up my new (second hand compressor) a few months ago. I was looking for a Wolf Dakota 3HP and ended up finding a Burisch version (same compressor - different label). It was 3 months old and I got it for £200. They were also selling a Clarke Blast Pot along with a Soda Conversion Kit for £100 so I grabbed that as well. (didn't come with a sieve or funnel :-( ). It's the CSB100 model.

Using My Blast Pot With a Cabinet
    My question is this, If I build my own cabinet, is it worth rigging it up to use the Blast Pot and Hose along with the Soda Conversion, or is this going to be a pain, as opposed to getting a different gin setup?

Guide Recommendation
    Also can anyone point me to a decent guide on building a DIY setup with recommended dimensions and ball park figure on build cost? There are several around but wanted some recommendations.

DIY or Not
    I am still considering whether its worth building a DIY as opposed to just getting my parts done by someone else, or biting the bullet and buying a cabinet. I could only really afford the larger of the two Clarke types.

Tumble Dryer Conversion
    I also had a thought this morning about popping to the recycling centre and picking up one or two old Tumble Dryers and using them as the basis for the cabinet? Or is it better to construct from Plywood with a metal inside?

Thanks for reading my mornings ramblings :-)

2. brightspark

brightspark Member

build a cabinet big enough to take a car wheel get a decent extracta for it . I use a 4inch woodchip unit on mine ithas a suction gun inside and I also use the pressure pot with blast hose poked through the glove hole. il take some picture later and post

• blastcabinet.JPG
    • DSCF1297.JPG
  3. Dcal Member

Agree with @brightspark post.