Convex face using the DRO

1. Milkybars

Milkybars Forum Supporter

Looking for a bit of assistance, got a few of these to make (out of 304 stainless)
    Currently I have enough material for 1, so mondays task will be to source some more.

Anyway, I have never done this before and wondered if someone could assist with guidance on programing the DRO. The little ball turning attachment won't assist me on this occasion

• IMG_20200530_220545.jpg
  2. Agroshield Member

Do you have a link to the DRO manual?

All the classic texts on this idea machine it as a series of steps and then blend with a file. See attached.

Another option is to cut out the radius on a piece of sheet, fix to the bed and spring load a pointer directly under the tool tip on the carriage to it.

See also page 67 here: https://archive.org/download/treatiseonplaner00cinc/treatiseonplaner00cinc.pdf (turn page on its side so it looks more lathe-like)

• Attached Files:

Milky.pdf
      File size:
      49.1 KB
      Views:
  3. Pete.

Pete. Member

You don't need a DRO to do those, there's a simple method which I read recently and was impressed by it's simplicity. All you need is a piece of rod, pointed both ends, which is the same length as your radius of 5.41". Put a centre-punch mark directly under the spindle centre-line, and another on the cross slide directly under the tool. Now all you have to do is hold the carriage against the rod with the handwheel and use the cross-slide to face the part. The rod will cause the tool to follow the radius you require.

Here's an example of someone turning a model loco buffer (His distance rod is not horizontal, but if the radius is critical it must be)

[​IMG]

Guzrik, Kram, Shox Dr and 14 others like this.
  4. Agroshield Member

• smt_sphericalturning8.jpg
    Dcal and Wallace like this.
  5. Pete.

Pete. Member

Good examples :thumbup: