Commissioning my 3 phase lathe

  1. Fazerruss

    Fazerruss Member

    Messages:
    2,335
    West Yorkshire
    Hello all, this is my latest project. I bought a second lathe for the workshop. It's a very lightly used Colchester Bantam manufactured in 1973. It has the change wheels to cut both metric and imperial threads.
    First job was to get it off the trailer...

    20190901_154537.jpg
    With a little help

    20190901_155153.jpg

    And into position


    20190901_155822.jpg
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2019
    pressbrake1, Shox Dr, Kayos and 7 others like this.
  2. Fazerruss

    Fazerruss Member

    Messages:
    2,335
    West Yorkshire
    Next job was some anti vibration feet. They are bloody expensive to buy and I'm a tight Yorkshire man so I made my own...

    20190915_134823.jpg
     
    • 20190915_151320.jpg
    • 20190921_114724.jpg
    • 20190915_134829.jpg
    • 20190921_154445.jpg
    slim_boy_fat, Maker, Hood and 3 others like this.
  3. Fazerruss

    Fazerruss Member

    Messages:
    2,335
    West Yorkshire
    The one at the rear needed a longer bolt to go through the level adjuster but I didn't have any long 14 km bolts so I used an M12 and made some top bushes to give a nice snug fit.

    20190921_201809.jpg
     
  4. Fazerruss

    Fazerruss Member

    Messages:
    2,335
    West Yorkshire
    She's looking lovely now.....

    20190921_185816.jpg 20190921_190843.jpg
     
    decca, Kayos, Rannsachair and 7 others like this.
  5. Fazerruss

    Fazerruss Member

    Messages:
    2,335
    West Yorkshire
    Now I need some three phase power for it.

    I managed to be hold of a Transwave static inverter for not much money. I would have preferred a rotary phase converter but beggars cany be choosers.
    Time for some alterations....
    20190824_114340.jpg
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2019
    slim_boy_fat and eSCHEn like this.
  6. zzr1200

    zzr1200 Working at 650 ft on open steel work

    Messages:
    3,529
    Location:
    Brimington, Chesterfield, Derbyshire
    Your workshops way to clean and tidy for my liking....
     
  7. Fazerruss

    Fazerruss Member

    Messages:
    2,335
    West Yorkshire
    The plan was to add an idler motor to make it a true RPC but I also wanted to keep an eye on the output voltages and current draw so I also fitted some VA meters for each phase...

    20190824_114403.jpg 20190824_120316.jpg 20190824_121655.jpg 20190824_124543.jpg
     
    eLuSiVeMiTe, Hood and eSCHEn like this.
  8. Fazerruss

    Fazerruss Member

    Messages:
    2,335
    West Yorkshire
    Next task was somewhere to put it and the best place is up here.... 20190831_171559.jpg
     
    Hood and eSCHEn like this.
  9. Fazerruss

    Fazerruss Member

    Messages:
    2,335
    West Yorkshire
    I cant cope with working in a *NO SWEARING ON THIS FORUM* hole!


    Oops, the swear filter kicked in but you know what I said!
     
  10. Fazerruss

    Fazerruss Member

    Messages:
    2,335
    West Yorkshire
    Anyway, here is the stand /shelf thing in the making......

    20190831_153104.jpg 20190831_171154.jpg
     
    Hood and eSCHEn like this.
  11. Fazerruss

    Fazerruss Member

    Messages:
    2,335
    West Yorkshire
    20190831_183057.jpg 20190831_171210.jpg 20190831_173642.jpg
     
    eSCHEn likes this.
  12. Fazerruss

    Fazerruss Member

    Messages:
    2,335
    West Yorkshire
    20190831_171427.jpg
     
  13. Fazerruss

    Fazerruss Member

    Messages:
    2,335
    West Yorkshire
    20190831_203418.jpg
     
    eSCHEn and Hood like this.
  14. Fazerruss

    Fazerruss Member

    Messages:
    2,335
    West Yorkshire
    And here it is fitted......

    20190921_185834.jpg
     
    eSCHEn and Hood like this.
  15. Fazerruss

    Fazerruss Member

    Messages:
    2,335
    West Yorkshire
    And the proof in the pudding.
    The first image is the output from the static with no idler motor or load. Technically speaking these do not produce 3 phase. Instead they up the voltage from 240 to 415.and have start and run caps to help.the motor start from stationary and balance the phases.
    20190921_201317.jpg
     
    eLuSiVeMiTe and eSCHEn like this.
  16. Fazerruss

    Fazerruss Member

    Messages:
    2,335
    West Yorkshire
    Next pic is with the lathe running but no idler motor plugged in.
    20190921_201403.jpg

    The numbers aren't bad but could be better.

    The generated phase is slightly below 400v
     
  17. Fazerruss

    Fazerruss Member

    Messages:
    2,335
    West Yorkshire
    Now with the idler connected you can see the current draw is more even across the phases and the output voltages are closer to 415v

    20190921_201516.jpg

    One other thing I noticed is the lathe starts up much quicker with the idler motor connected and the voltage drop at initial start up is less.
    So advise is if you have a static inverter then run a idler motor too as it makes a significant improvement in performance.
     
  18. ukracer Forum Supporter

    My colchester master 2500 runs fine off a transwave static. But I am always open to suggestions. :)
     
  19. Hood

    Hood Forum Supporter

    Messages:
    8,967
    Location:
    Carnoustie, Scotland
    When I first started out I had a transwave and like you I fitted an idler motor. Not only did it balance things better but it allowed me to go from Fwd/Rev without having to first stop.
     
  20. Fazerruss

    Fazerruss Member

    Messages:
    2,335
    West Yorkshire
    For what a second hand three phase motor costs it's well worth it. Just wire it up in parallel with the output so it comes on as soon as you turn on the inverter. The extra current draw is minimal but the advantages are great. Your lathe will start up better and run smoother.
     
    Exuptoy, ukracer and eLuSiVeMiTe like this.
Advertisements