Choosing a multi-process welder for a newbie

1. Miah New Member

Hi folks,

I am new to welding (have had a play with arc for an hour or two, that's all) and am trying to choose a reasonable multi-process welder to get started with. Initially I'm interested in arc and mig. It'd be nice if it could do tig in the future, but that's not critical.

I've been looking at the following:

IFL i-TECH 170 MIG INVERTER:
    https://www.weldequip.com/ifl-170-mig.htm

R-Tech 180 Amp Portable Inverter Mig Welder (240v):
    https://www.r-techwelding.co.uk/mig-welder-r-tech-i-mig180/

I asked a friend who works in the welding industry, and he put me in touch with a mate of his, who recommended one of the Jasic welders. I had a quick look but they look quite pricey in comparison with the above:

Jasic MIG 160 Compact Inverter Welder:
    https://www.tbws.co.uk/shop/jasic-pro-mig-160-compact-inverter-welder/

Other than spending time learning/practicing, I'd like to be able to use the machine mostly for vehicle maintenance, both on thin panels (eg. wheel arches) and on chassis mounts etc (land rovers).

Will also be needing a mask too, don't want to go mad on the spending but the idea of an auto-dimming unit is quite appealing from reading through the forum. Not sure which to choose though.

Any advice/pointers welcome!

Miah

2. Jlg

Jlg Member

Ifl all the way

3. Tangledfeet

Tangledfeet Forum Supporter

@Miah Contact TBWS and ask for a quote for the Jasic; they should come back with a much better price.

4. DTS Member

5. Tom Orrow L

Tom Orrow L Welding Supplies Direct

They look a tidy machine but its 50/50 whether they're still going to go ahead with even releasing that machine yet. It'll be built in their Chinese factory but I'd still say it'll be a belter of a machine, Their EasyMIG and SmartMIG range are worth considering too.

eLuSiVeMiTe and DTS like this.
  6. Torrostig New Member