Basic Mig Welding Course - North Cheshire Manchester ?

1. Cheshire Tony Member

Can anyone suggest a basic course / introduction to Mig welding course in the Macclesfield or South Manchester areas ?

I don't need any formal qualifications, just time and advice to a complete beginner. I've been wanting to learn for sometime now and having made a dubious van purchase that needs new sills, now seems a perfect time.

My grandad used to make welding his living, but sadly he's no longer with us or I'd be knocking on his door.

Just want to learn enough to start with to do a decent job on that repair (after much practice) and then go on and try some other aspects.

2. zzr1200

zzr1200 Working at 650 ft on open steel work

At the top of the page there's a green bar, click on "MIG" and spend some time reading, also try looking for any local colleges for car restoration classes/courses these should include some welding tuition.

And welcome to the site...

slim_boy_fat likes this.
  3. Cheshire Tony Member

That’s helpful thanks, most of the local colleges are more interested in certification than those who just want to learn new skills. Probably because there’s more money in it for them I guess.

So you think with a little perseverance and some kit, you can teach yourself by trial and error ?

4. Greeves246 Member

5. Cheshire Tony Member

That’s great have phoned them, they are calling me back Monday. I get the impression that they do courses for companies but I hope they do a basic one as well.

6. SHogan

SHogan Member