Automotive Welding

1. puffernutter

puffernutter Puffernutter

I'm not new to welding, just not very good at it! My first introduction was a stick welder on an apprenticeship course in 1980. I have a MiG that I use for repairing cars. Nothing flashy and I use 0.8mm wire. I also have a TiG that I haven't even played with yet!

I am a hobby welder and for various reasons periods between welding can be very infrequent, I have an abrasive doofer on the wire that cleans it before it hits the rollers, so it should take any oxides off.

I prepare the area to be welded and get it as clean as possible and I also get as good an earth as possible.

BUT

I still either fail to get penetration or blow holes! So what should I adjust, wire speed or current. I can eventually get a good weld on the new metal and new metal to new metal, but generally fail with the new metal to car!

I have a Triumph Spitfire I'm working on and I've put a lower rear wing pane on and its OK, but not something I'm that proud of and will require a lot of time with a grinder, then filler :-)

I know it's experience, but that's not going to happen in the near future, so how do I balance wire speed/current (or voltage in this case!) I get the "sausage sizzling" noise, so I assumes I was doing something right and I use an intermittent approach to stop me overheating one area!

I know the theory, it's the practice that let's me down :-)

Cheers

Peter

P.S. I'll be asking about how to TiG and whether I should learn that to do these repairs in the TiG forum sometime later.....

2. james butler

james butler Member

if your welding thin stuff, as a starting point you would be better off with thinner 0.6 wire.
    i also have problems welding thin car body work, all you can do is make it easier on yourself by following some of the tips found here
    http://www.mig-welding.co.uk/thin-metal.htm

3. james butler

james butler Member

another thing is metal prep.