Anyone familiar with wood and supply lengths?

1. T.E.D. Jordan Member

UK -Cumbria
    I know every type of metal supply there is to know and what typical lengths are available in each type of supply... But when it comes to wood I've no idea...

I'm needing to build an out-door open faced wood store that's roofed. It'll need to be around 10ft long, 3ft deep and incorporate a coal store and kindling store.

My question is, what supply's does 'wood' come in and what should I be looking at using? I want something like this ideally:

[​IMG]

I'm a complete noob with wood like I say so what kind of sizes/lengths are pretty standard?

Jordan

2. cumbriasteve

cumbriasteve Moderator

If you have a Travis Perkins depot down your way then have a walk in...they stock that sort of stuff for fencing posts and decking etc, you want the treated timber of course.

Lengths usually go from about 3 metres to 8 metres.

Not sure about the cladding, last time I wanted similar I got it cut at a sawmill.,,, was a few years ago now and can't remember the cost.

and don't try welding it together ;)

http://www.ultimatehandyman.co.uk/forum1/building-a-wood-store-t49162.html

3. rosinante

rosinante Member

wood

Well it grows on trees, but man generally cuts up to suit, for what you want visit a fencing/ out door building type of retailer,this will be tanalised to give more durability, general units these days are the metric foot,ie multiples of 300 mm eg 1.8m = 6ft ,2.4, = 8ft etc sorry about the imperial/metric mish mash but that is what I have found to be the case,thicknesses are the same,as said fencing contractors /farm building suppliers etc are your best bet, iirc there are a couple of places that do timber on the industial est at Millom if you are near there,failing that the B&Q type out lets do it ,with a bit of planning and small flexibility on size you should be able to build it without much cutting,get a sharp hard point saw and you will be done,
    HTH
    Chris

4. Shox Dr