Air master compressor (what's my model please?)

1. David Cooper New Member

I bought this from the magic Ebay a couple of years ago so I could have a go at spraying my mk2 transit van which I've been restoring for the last 4 years!!!
    There is no data badge anywhere & I need to find out how much oomph it has in cfm.
    The tank is about 77cm by 29cm & it has a 2 hp motor.
    I've painted my engine bay using a cheap spray gun called a fast mover with a 1.4 tip. The finish is ok but I'm only a beginner although I always get a great finish with spray cans. (Not rattle cans as I'm English) any answers would be great. IMG_20190528_151745.jpg IMG_20190528_151745.jpg IMG_20190528_151625.jpg

• IMG_20190528_151648.jpg
    • IMG_20180908_181012.jpg
    Nick DV likes this.
  2. carbon

carbon Member

Hi looking at similar motor sized compressors on the machinemart website it could have 9cfm output. I haven’t looked at there manuals but see they have a few airmaster models listed.

David Cooper likes this.
  3. David Cooper New Member

Thanks chris.

4. timgunn1962 Member

As a fairly generic 2HP Italian jobbie, it's almost certain to have a displacement between 8 and 9 CFM.

FAD is likely to be around 6-6.5 CFM at around 80 PSI. The FAD is the number you'll need to use to check whether or not the compressor is big enough (or the spray gun small enough), rather than the displacement.

David Cooper and carbon like this.
  5. David Cooper New Member

Thanks tim. Excuse me for being thick, but does that mean I should be looking for a spray gun that uses about 6cm maximum ?

6. carbon

carbon Member

If possible, maybe a lvlp spraygun. Haven’t used one myself so can’t really recommend one

7. henry Kadzielski Member