1997 Astra F Estate Project.

1. Matt Thomson

Matt Thomson Member

Well, I'd put the very beginnings of this project up on the "Learning to weld" thread so some of you may have seen bits of this already. I got some good feedback and great tips/pointers. Unfortunately this quick tidy up and MOT has grown arms and legs somewhat so thought it may be worth a thread of its own due to the sheer amount of work needing done. Please feel free to comment, advise and pass on any information or tips that may be relevant. I'm just a newbie at this so if you see something I've don't wrong or something that doesn't look right don't hesitate to point it out......thanks!!!

2. Matt Thomson

Matt Thomson Member

At first it seemed not too bad. A little rough around the edges. Generally quite nice looking for a 20 year old motor.... 20170731_150347.jpg 20170731_203318.jpg
    Unfortunately that didn't last long.....
    It all went downhill from there.....quickly..

Just got the front bumper off and it wasn't looking promising

20171111_222206.jpg
    And that was just what I found within a few minutes...... 20171111_222147.jpg

migmag likes this.
  3. Kayos

Kayos Member

Always liked that shape Astra, I've had several as well as a few G's

They always rotted away or rotted away actually. Except the 3 door zero spec merit, that just died and never recovered

Matt Thomson likes this.
  4. armalites Member

Herefordshire
    The 90s were a good decade for Vauxhalls, some properly thrashable motors. I've still got the 1992 Cavalier SRI(last of the pre-cat cars) that I bought when it was 3 years old. Haven't driven it for 13 years, I was at one with that car and nobody ever understood why my one went so well. It used to stay with Cavalier GSI no problem and friends with RS Turbos were always convinced I'd done something to it. I had a fuel card back then and had that car off the end of the clock on several occasions.

I see the Irmscher badge, looks like an Irmscher exhaust?