So.... I want to learn TIG welding.

1. Oldbanger Member

Scotland
    I've been a member of this forum for a few years now , I joined up because I wanted a few tips on how to mig weld - thanks largely to the help advice and tutorials I found on here I have been able to stick bits of mild steel together with varying degrees of success. I'm under no illusion that I'm a master welder and fully understand that I will probably never be done learning this dark art.
    All that being said I have always wanted to "give TIG a go"... I've just about decided on the tig set I'm after (either the esab buddy tig 160 or the thermal arc 175 te) they seem to be the two that will do what I want them to do and come in at the money I'm willing to spend.
    My question to you fine folk is : what tips do you have for someone like myself looking to start out???.. no formal training, just the will to listen and learn.

Cheers all... and thanks in advance

2. Richard.

Richard. Member

Hey mate
    Yes a 160 amp dc set like those will happily get you into it. Don't forget you'll need a bottle of argon too.
    Best advice I can give you is if possible find a couple of hours local 1 to 1 tuition just to get your hand in it. I bet there are members up there that would love an excuse to show you the ropes for a morning. I do it regularly for members on here but your a bit of an impractical drive from me.

Oldbanger likes this.
  3. Maker

Maker Krombopulos Michael

I found Welding tips and tricks and Chucke2009* very helpful when I first started, as well as the advice of this forum after posting bead pictures.

I'm also considering either of the two sets you mentioned, I'd be interested to know how you get on with them.

*His older videos, maybe 2014 and back, before he got all product placementy and clickbaity.

4. Hood

Hood Forum Supporter

Where in Scotland are you?

5. Oldbanger Member

Scotland