Lightweight torch recommendations please

1. FergalFarty Member

Hi all

I'm new to TIG and have I've borrowed a Selco Genesis 200 AC/DC machine off a mate. The torch that came with it is a WP26F, which I find to be very cumbersome and heavy. I've tried wrapping the hose round my arm or over my shoulder which helps a bit, but it's still hard to get the fine control needed with such a bulky torch and hose.

I'm thinking of getting a WP9 torch as I'm only going to be welding up to 3mm mild steel, so don't need loads of amps. Any recommendations for a nice, lightweight switched torch for less than £100?

Thanks

Fergal

2. Burdekin

Burdekin Chief Bodger

3. Richard.

Richard. Member

For £100 you'll get a nice wp9. Something with silicon rubber hoses would be my a 4mtr Ck9 would just about come in budget.

chevy2 likes this.
  4. kcchan Member

You may find that it is just the hose? I got a WP26 with my welder and replaced it with a cheap WP17 head with a CK flex hose and it is wonderful to use (not that I know how to use it!) but I found the biggest difference is the hose.

5. FergalFarty Member

@kcchan

Yes, the hose is very heavy and bulky with its thick rubber sheath which makes it quite inflexible. Is the sheath really necessary? Could I just remove it? The torch head is also quite big, I'd rather have one that's about the thickness of a big marker pen.

6. Richard.

Richard. Member

Remove it but replace it with a lighter more flexible nylon or pigskin leather one. You should have a sheath on it to stop you damaging or burning the cables.

7. HughF

HughF Member

26 with a stubby kit is okay once you're used to it.

But really for the cost of a stubby kit, just buy a 9 and be done with it.

8. Richard.

Richard. Member

Or do it properly, 1 torch for all and go wp20.

Small print
    You may need to add a water cooler

MattH and HughF like this.
  9. Shox Dr

Shox Dr Chief Engineer to Carlos Fandango